Throw Back Thursday

Posted on

I am joining the ranks of bloggers who post TBT on Thursdays. I think this is a great idea to remember the past!

Since I have gotten back into sewing – only crafts and quilts – I thought I would post one of my favorite comedians ever!

She was born August 6, 1911 in Jamestown, New York.

In 1927 she had started calling herself Diane Belmont, found work as a model, first for fashion designer Hattie Carnegie, and then, after overcoming a debilitating bout of rheumatoid arthritis, for Chesterfield cigarettes.

In the 1930’s work soon followed, including a stint as one of the 12 “Goldwyn Girls” to promote the 1933 Eddie Cantor flick Roman Candles. She landed a role as an extra in the Ritz Brothers film The Three Musketeers, and then in 1937 earned a sizable part in Stage Door.

On April 26, 1989, she died from a ruptured aorta following open-heart surgery at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center in Los Angeles.

A little something about Lucille Ball courtesy of http://www.biography.com/.

And since I am a quilter/sewer this is my tribute to this wonderfully, funny woman who made millions of people laugh.

Image

I don’t even want to know what happens to this poor sewing machine! Our favorite movie by Lucy and Desi is the “Long, Long Trailer.” And if you haven’t seen it, please do so. It is hilarious. It is also an RVers cult movie!

We like to listen to Old Time Radio on Sirius XM and found Lucy on “My Favorite Husband.” This radio show she was on became so popular that a spin off happened. Yep, I Love Lucy was born

And that is the first of TBT!!

2 thoughts on “Throw Back Thursday

    Sharen Kimbal said:
    February 27, 2014 at 10:28 am

    I’ll be looking forward to Thursdays! How fun!!

    RVeCafe said:
    February 27, 2014 at 4:55 pm

    Instead of collecting rocks and jam (must see the Long Long Trailer), Gwen collects fabric. I KNOW it’s hidden here somewhere!

Leave a Reply

