Getting a Little Creative

Posted on

It has been a month since I joined Weight Watchers. Yes, I can hear you groan, but something needed to be done about the flab on my body! I’m motivated and that is when I have to get going on getting healthy. Motivation is the key.

I won’t go into what WW is about. The program is teaching me to stop when I am full; take smaller portions; and eat lots of fruit and veggies. It is also teaching me healthy snacking. WW program is not a diet. I can eat anything I want. However, I only get 26 points a day so the choice to eat something with a lot of points or not comes into play. Therefore, WW is teaching me good choices when it comes to food.

One good tool to eating healthy and good food choices is in planning meals ahead of time and also shopping for the ingredients. If you I know what you  I am going to eat and all the ingredients are in the fridge, then you I’m not going to go for stuff I know would blow not only my points, but also my weight loss for the week.

I found this awesome recipe  ~ Mexican Lasagna. I found the recipe at the Food Network website. You can find it here:
Mexican Lasagna

I did a few things different to make this WW friendly. Well, maybe I did only one thing – NO sour cream. I just didn’t want to go there. I’m not even fond of Fat-free sour cream.

The other thing I did was use chicken but this would also be a good vegetarian meal without meat. I took all the ingredients, but the cheese, and cooked them on the stove top. I layered the corn tortillas in my 11 x 7 Pyrex dish, cutting them in half. I used 6 inch tortillas. I layered the chicken mixture on top of the tortillas, sprinkled with cheese and repeated 3 layers. Covered and baked for 30 minutes (not the hour in the recipe) and took the cover off and baked for another 5 minutes. Topped it with diced tomatoes, avocado, salsa and jalapenos. It was delicious.

This is one of those recipes that you can either follow the recipe or do your own thing with. Which is so much more fun!!!!  Another great thing about this dish ~ IT IS SO EASY TO MAKE.

WW points=5

mexican-lasgna
Life is good! (in the kitchen). God made today and it was beautiful.


3 thoughts on “Getting a Little Creative

    Doris Prohaska said:
    February 7, 2013 at 9:16 am

    Always glad to hear from you and news of WW as their T V ads sound convincing so sounds like it will work for you. I thought the smother machine did sound good in drinking all those fruit & vegetables. At least Dale was bragging about it to all as went along. Dorana is trying to help me prepare for PEO here on Wednesday so not easy but at least MAEBELL will be here tomorrow so hope I can keep it clean for a few days. We will drive to Woodland on Monday 11th to celebrate Dale’s 90th birthday as his friend Lee Prather is doing with all his family on this week-end. They had the same birthday and a few times would celebrate together. No rain as yet but still cold and will get colder for the weekend. Expect the same for you?

    thanks for all the books on Nook but reading one now with over 400 pages and only half thru but anxiou to get to some you have sent. Will get busy but glad to hear from you. Love, Mom

    Judy Williams said:
    February 22, 2013 at 5:53 pm

    Hi Gwen, my husband and I are #32 on the Active Wait List for Timber Valley. We enjoy reading your and Dale’s blogs to get small glimpses of life at TV. We have spent most of the winter here at North Ranch, but will be stopping at TV for hopefully an extended stay on our way to Alaska this spring. This will be our third year to camphost for Anchorage Schools. (We retired from there and have kids and grandkids up there). We look forward to meeting you when we get there!! See you soon! Judy

      Gwen responded:
      February 22, 2013 at 9:19 pm

      Hi Judy! Congrats on moving up on the WList. We love it here, as you know and lucked out on getting a lot we really enjoy being on. Hope the list moves up fast for you. Oh, wait, that is a good thing and a bad thing. That is really cool that you are camp hosting close to family. That makes it almost the best job ever. Travel safe and see you when your rig pulls in. Looking forward to meeting you.

Leave a Reply

