A Privilege

Posted on

After being in the SKP park since September we have learned how involved our community of RVer’s is involved in the community. We have avid Lions who are very involved in the community of Sutherlin. We also have veterans who are involved with the VA Hospital here sending books and clothes to veterans and their families.

Today was a day to bake cookies and goodies for Christmas for some major people in the community. Dial-A-Ride, which many in the park drive for them (we were also a major factor in getting Dial-A-Ride going in Sutherlin). We also contribute to the Fire Department Toys for Tots and Dale and I were amazed at the way the people in the park gave toys (under our tree) to kids in this community. So, to show our appreciation to these organizations we deliver cookies and goodies to them each Christmas.

So today was a baking day for me. I made those quick “no bake” chocolate/peanut butter cookies and 7 loaves of Egg Nog Bread. Tomorrow I will make brownies (homemade) and pumpkin cookies. Now, I’m not tooting my own horn at all. Just telling you of a ministry we have here to the community. I KNOW other women in the park are busy baking also.

On another note, we went to the local book store/coffee shop and I found a book,  The Quilter’s Kitchen by Darlene Zimmerman & Joy Hoffman. I liked what they had created for the kitchen using the quilting method of sewing. They also have recipes in the book. One caught my eye because I had all the ingredients. I call it the Rice Bowl.

I had some hamburger leftover from another meal. Added garlic cloves, onion, mushrooms, carrots and peas with a can of white beans and diced tomatoes. I cooked that for a while and then added rice (I used Uncle Ben’s 90 second rice. If you use regular rice, be sure to cook this dish longer and add it sooner), shredded Colby cheese and Parmesan cheese and let that melt. They said in the recipe to bake for an hour and then add cheese and bake 25 more minutes. That seemed excessive to me, so I just put it all in the skillet and cooked it on the stove top. Served with our great Lighthouse Bakery  Wheat bread and the meal was hearty and complete. Add a salad if you want more veggies! And…..so easy! After a day of baking I was all for easy.

Life is good! Do you know the song “Mary Did You Know”? Listen here and watch the video. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=C1DZA_TdBBI

 

Leave a Reply

