How Do You See Yourself?

Posted on

I ask that question because looking in my mirror has always been a challenge for me. What I see in there isn’t perfect or beautiful or even close to being what I want! I see all the warts and moles and wrinkles (now), zits a long time ago! And then the negative talk would start in my mind and pour out my lips. I would put myself down, down, down. And that brought me to the “believing” side of things. I believed what I said to myself.

When I was in my 20’s I read a Bible verse in Isaiah 43: 7 “Even every one that is called by my name: for I have created him for my glory, I have formed him; yea, I have made him.”  That day, the way I look at myself changed. Why? Because God made me just the way He wanted me. For what? His glory. Does that say to you what it says to me? He loves me just the way I am, so how could I not. Yes, He is still bringing changes in my life to be more like Him. I am an on-going project. I laid to rest all the things I found negative about myself, and confidently laid me in the hands of my Creator. You can also. Just believe that He made you just the way He wanted – for His glory.

In our Unglued study, we are learning how labels imprison us in categories that are hard to escape. No matter what you say about yourself (you know the list you have made about yourself) labels only stick if you let them. Lysa tells us that labels start out as little threads of self-dissatisfaction but ultimately weave together into a straitjacket of self-condemnation. We know we have issues, and labeling ourselves is what comes naturally to us – it’s just what we do. How we act is how we label ourselves.

I’m suggesting to you, to take that first step out of self and whatever you have labeled yourself, and trade that for the new imperfect progress – telling yourself that God made you just the way He wanted you – for His glory. Yep, go ahead, give it a try!

After reading this portion of scripture I found this devotional in my inbox from Chuck Swindoll the next day. I want to share it with you and let you chew on it!

God Made Me
by Charles R. Swindoll

You formed my inward parts;
You wove me in my mother’s womb.
I will give thanks to You, for I am
fearfully and wonderfully made.
Psalm 139:13-14

The word formed literally means “originated or created.”

God reached into my life when I was merely a tiny embryo and began to shape me within. He originated me. He began to put me together while I was still in the soft silence of my mother’s womb. It was there my “inward parts” were originated by God. . . .

The nine-month interweaving work of God included my likes and dislikes, my personality as well as my perspective on life. . . . As I analyze my body and see the way I have been put together, I join the psalmist in praise and gratitude to God, my Creator. . . .

Mother Nature didn’t make me. Fate did not shape me, neither was I just a biological combination of mother and dad in a moment of sexual passion. Nor was I conceived through blind chance.

You, God (and no other), made me!

Life isn’t perfect, but you are, in Christ!

Unglued: Making Wise Choices in the Midst of Raw Emotions by Lysa Terkeurst

 

Leave a Reply

