October Is Around The Corner

Posted on Updated on

Can you feel fall in the air? Our days are still nice and hot ~ in the 80’s but the night time gets a little chilly. The leaves are turning and in some cases have already fallen off. This will be our first fall in Sutherlin and we are looking forward to the different seasons this year.

Today is going to be a craft post day. I’m on the committee for the annual Halloween Party held here at the club house. There’s some exciting ideas being tossed around on how to entertain the folks who don’t become “snow birds” and stay here during the fall, winter, and spring.

In August 2009 our Chapter 37 members got together and went on a Rollin’ Rally to Eastern Oregon. When we were in Baker City, Oregon going through quilt stores we spotted a pumpkin made from material, stuffing and a double roll of toilet paper. The light bulb came on the other day (you know the one that pops on to make you remember something!) and I thought this would be a great decoration for the party.

While Dale was at the doctor yesterday I ran over to JoAnn’s and purchased material for the pumpkin. Here’s some photo’s of how to make one of these things. It is so easy and doesn’t take much time at all.

The materials you will need:

22″ x 22″ square of material of your choice
For stuffing: batting, plastic bags, or your choice
Brown paper bag , what length you like for stem and about 2″ wide or less – depends on your preference
Rope or paper rope
Autumn leaves (plastic or silk)
Glue or hot glue

My material was 5/8 yds which gave me two pumpkins.

I chose a bright orange material with small round swirls. 30% off at JoAnn’s and then another 20% off coupon! Each pumpkin cost me $1.50 for material.

For the stuffing, Dale gave me some packing material. I tried it but it didn’t give the fullness I wanted. I ended up using 3 plastic bags from the grocery store.

Place the TP in the center. With the plastic bags, I gathered them up around the bottom of the TP rather than on the whole piece of material.

Next, gather up the edges of the material and push it down into the center of the TP.

When all the material is in the center of the roll, you might want to fuss with the pleats and gatherings to make it look smoother.

Assembling the “stem” is also easy. Take your piece of paper bag and roll it up. You can tape the ends or use a glue gun. I didn’t do either on the ends!!!! Then take your piece of rope and wind around the paper roll up. Now you can tape or glue the ends of the rope to the paper bag.

Take one end of the “stem” and push it down the middle of the pumpkin in the TP center. I bent min a little to make it look like a pumpkin stem but you don’t have to.

Next, take the leaves and hot glue or use any other glue to attach around the stem.

My stem of silk leaves came with berries on it so I added those for decoration. Not “pumpkinishey” but makes it look festive.

Wah lah – a table decoration to celebrate fall! I hope you enjoy putting one of these together!

Life is good! God gave nature such beautiful fall colors to enjoy!

3 thoughts on “October Is Around The Corner

    David and Paulina said:
    September 28, 2012 at 4:07 pm

    What a cute idea! Thank you so much.
    Blessings,
    Paulina

    Sue Millar said:
    September 28, 2012 at 4:34 pm

    Such a great idea and appears to be easy to make!

    Kati said:
    September 29, 2012 at 10:12 pm

    I truly appreciate this post. I have been looking all over for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You’ve made my day! Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

