UNGLUED

Posted on Updated on

I know, right? Anything unglued needs help. Whether it is something broken or coming apart.

I have begun a journey with Melissa Taylor and the Proverbs 31 ministry at http://melissataylor.org/ with about 2000 other women around the world who saw in their own lives how they needed some help with “Coming Unglued.”

This book was written by Lysa TerKeurst, who after listening to other women’s comments, found she wasn’t alone in the area of loosing it over the small stuff as well as the big stuff. She tells us in the book of her own personal battle with coming unglued.

We have only done the first two chapters, but let me tell you how this blew  my mind. First off, I am 63 years old. I don’t have any children at home. My husband and I are full time RVers and our life is so very blessed and good. There really isn’t any stress. Yet, I still find that in certain areas of my life, buttons get pushed and I find myself saying and doing things that astound even me and make me very ashamed of myself.

Pinned from Pinterest.

The very first sentence of the first chapter says, “Emotions aren’t bad. But try telling that to my brain at 2:08 a.m. when I should be sleeping instead of mentally beating myself up.” I was hooked. This is me to a T.

What can keep us from making changes to overcome loosing it? Thinking we have to do everything perfectly. Again, me to a T. I feel I have to say the right words, show the right actions or reactions and fix whatever needs fixing. NOT SO! Lysa says. She suggests we make imperfect changes to show us we can change. Imperfect changes are slow steps of progress wrapped in grace …imperfect progress.

As a Christian, I can’t do anything without God in any life process. He is my passion, my strength and my love. Believing that His grace  wraps me up and desires me to be more like Him, I can  make progress in making imperfect changes in myself. I have hope!

As I blog through the week, I will add a more quotes from the book to give you a taste of what you might need to start on your own journey of imperfect changes. And if this grabs you enough, click on over to Melissa’s website and join us in the study. All you need is the book. There is a community of women getting to know each other and sharing their life to give us all hope that we can, through Christ, conquer coming unglued.

Life is good. God’s grace lavishly covers me. 

2 thoughts on “UNGLUED

    Melissa said:
    September 27, 2012 at 9:37 am

    Gwen,
    I love you and we’ve never met! First of all, I want to be a full time RVer one day. My grandparents were and I loved traveling with them. My husband and I talk about it, it’s one of my dreams. Crazy huh?

    And, I see you are an avid college football fan! Well don’t even get me started. Our teams differ, but I am right there with you! I love Saturdays in the Fall all because of football! Love my South Carolina Gamecocks!

    Thanks so much for doing this Online Bible Study! The first sentence of the book got me hooked too!

    Love your blog, thank you for sharing!

      Gwen responded:
      September 27, 2012 at 10:29 am

      Melissa! Your dream isn’t crazy! However, we have been called strange! Ha! Go for it.

Leave a Reply

