The Kids Made it

Posted on

Yesterday was an emotional day for me. Well, the last week or year has been emotional!!! You see, my daughter and granddaughter went to live in Germany. John is stationed there now and for the next 3 years they will be living there. So, this mom, has been on a roller coaster ride of emotions watching them get ready to leave and when the actual day came – total breakdown! (However, God blessed us with one more get-together last Friday in Fresno. To make a long story short, the kids had to go to Sac to get the animals USDA approved to enter Germany and so came down I-5. We are only 40 minutes from Fresno, so met up for dinner there and one last goodbye.)

Yesterday, was the accumulation of all those days and tears were flowing whenever my thoughts strayed to them. Which was all day!

Thanks to texting, I was able to keep up with them from Ontario to Denver to Washington D.C. But after DC, phones were done with because we aren’t international on our phone plans. Enter Ralph. He gave me a connection to the kids via an application for my phone called Flight It. I could keep track of the plane in real time as it made its way across the Atlantic to Munich, Germany. This is totally true. On the map, they have a little black plane following a white line denoting the route. The plane moved across the screen showing its real time location. What a blessing, Ralph. Thank you. However, my daughter called me a stalker!

I watched that little screen all day as it made its way on the white line on the screen. My eyes are so blurry today! At 11:30 p.m. last night I finally turned it off when the screen read – landed. But wait, Dale wanted to see before I turned it off and there was more. “At the gate” came up so I knew the plane had taxied in and was there so the kids could get off. I’m sure they were more than ready to get off!

Thanks to this little app on a smartphone, I felt a connection with my family. It would have been better if I was there with them, right? LOL One day, maybe.

I can’t wait to hear all the details of the flight and what Germany is like. Thank the Lord for Skype, and IM on Facebook. A good way to keep in touch.

Life is good and God takes care of us on every level.

I slept so good and didn’t wake up until 8 a.m. This whole week I was running on 4 to 5 hours sleep. Now, I can de-stress!

2 thoughts on “The Kids Made it

    David and Paulina said:
    April 2, 2012 at 2:05 pm

    I am happy for you that you were able to sleep. God sure takes care of us.
    We have 2 son’s in the Army and I miss them so much.
    we have to keep them all in prayer.

    Blessings,
    Paulina

    Gwen responded:
    April 2, 2012 at 8:16 pm

    Thank you Paulina. Praying and hoping your boys come home SOON and stay there. Yes, we do have to keep them in prayer! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

