Caps for Cures

Posted on Updated on

I have set a goal this year to make two caps a month. One for a group called Caps for Cures and the other for Temple Baptist Churches hat drive! I finally finished a hat with cables and sent it off to hopefully be used for people at a cancer center in Florida. Caps are fun to make because they knit up lickety-split!

This cap is called “Fruitcake Cap” by Candy Wheatcroft. It is a knitted cap and I used a silk/wool blend of yarn. Cables are a lot of fun to knit. They look scary at first but trust me – they are easy! All you need is a cable needle (you can get 3 in a package for about $5) and reuse them over and over.

I used a green font because that is what the color of this cap was. I took the photo at night with my phone and somehow it saw blue where green was!

Life is good!

2 thoughts on “Caps for Cures

    tinycamper said:
    February 6, 2012 at 12:57 pm

    Such a wonderful use of craft time and effort–a true labor of love. The cap is beautiful. I especially like your choice of silk/wool yarn.

      Gwen responded:
      February 6, 2012 at 1:46 pm

      Thanks Sharon…would go crazy if I couldn’t touch my needles! LOL

Leave a Reply

