January 1, 2012

Posted on

Well, I don’t know about you all, but 2011 saw us in bed at 10 p.m. and 2012 snuck in unheard. We did see 2012 happen in New York though. Our night was spent coughing and waking each other up!

Resolutions: As I was in the shower this afternoon (after our 2 mile hike on the beach in the SUN) I was thinking about resolutions. When we think about resolutions we think about how to change our life in some way and then a few months into the year we have forgotten those promises to ourselves. There is one resolution we all should make and KEEP! This resolution shouldn’t be ignored or forgotten by us. This resolution is one that needs to be done every month. Have you guessed yet? Yep, checking your breasts. Men should do this also as they are not immune to cancer cells. My N.D. in Grants Pass also checked into my armpits and the lymph glands. Here is a couple of good links for how-to’s.

For women: http://www.checkyourboobies.org/

For men: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pIRjYUHcyws

Dale and I are trying to be good with our eating. Our colds have kept us inactive but we did get out this morning for a good walk on the beach. The ocean was calmer today and the SUN (did I mention this before?) is out with blue skies and NO wind. A beautiful day here! We are using an app called MY Fitness Plan. We can key in all our foods and get nutrients and calories. This app also allows us to scan a bar code of a product and it gives us all the info! So what happens when I have a good week either under or right on my calories per day? I gain .5 pounds! Since we already eat pretty healthy I attribute this to NO exercise. LOL.

      Thought for the day.      We have just ushered a new year in.  My thought for the day is to live in TODAY. We can’t live in the past because that is over and done with. We can’t live in tomorrow because tomorrow never comes. We can only live in today, the present. Today is a precious gift from God. (as present describes) May we look for the blessings in today. May we look for ways to grow and mature in today. May we keep our mind and heart on our Lord. His promise: “For I know the plans I have for you, declares  the LORD, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

Dale and I are very much enjoying our time of rest and relaxation. I pray your day has been blessed by the hand of God in ways you never thought of! Happy New Year!

Life is good! God’s promises are true and right.

2 thoughts on “January 1, 2012

    tinycamper said:
    January 1, 2012 at 8:20 pm

    I appreciate the reminder to live in the present. When I can do it, I stay a lot more aware of and grateful for my blessings… and don’t stress about things in the future that I can’t control. When I get out of the present, life gets scary and hard!

    Happy New Year, and hope you get over your colds soon. What a beautiful place you are in!

    Gwen responded:
    January 1, 2012 at 8:56 pm

    Hi Sharen…I think this is my mantra and focus this year…living in the present because TODAY is a gift. I am thankful these thoughts touched your heart.

    Happy New Year to you also and I hope you get out in your rig this year!!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

