Taking the Old and Making It New

Posted on

Since we are sitting still in Lodi, I have been bitten by the “decorating” bug.  My first quest was to take myself off to Lowe’s, Home Depot and Ace Hardware to find the right color for the ceiling. I wanted a warm color instead of the stark white the manufacturer put in here. It took me about 3 weeks to find the right color in the 20 or so paint chips I collected. I finally chose a warm, very light pumpkin color because I plan to decorate the living room/kitchen/dining area in Southwestern colors. Our love of the desert is coming out!

If you have been in an RV and noticed the ceiling, there is much going on there. Our ceiling has recessed lighting, air conditioner vents, a ceiling fan, the TV antenna handle to put of the antenna up, the air conditioner housing and fantastic fan vent and a light fixture over the kitchen. It took me a while to get all that stuff off. Dale had to remove some of it, like the recessed light lenses. I couldn’t get them to budge at all. However, I had a handy-dandy tool to help me with most of the stuff. Dale’s new Milwaukee M12 drill that is light as a feather.

This photo shows you how dirty and in need the ceiling needed painted. It took me most of the day to get this job done. Dale came home from whatever he was doing and I shanghaied him to help me do the very high parts. The result was and is very rewarding. No more joists showing through the paint and as you know, clean, clean, clean.

Next project: recovering our theater seating chairs! The material has been ordered and received and Dale’s sis is going to help us take off this ugly fake leather material and replace it with a warm Chenille pattern that will help me on my quest to decorate with colors of the Southwest.

Life is good! God amazes us!

2 thoughts on “Taking the Old and Making It New

    Ralph said:
    September 16, 2011 at 8:33 pm

    I would like to decorate ours in Southwest. I would have a shelf loaded with kachina dolls! Don’t think Janet would go along though.

    Gwen said:
    September 17, 2011 at 2:11 am

    Awe Ralph. When I see them I think of you! But I don’t want one in my house either. But Kokopell is a different story.

Leave a Reply

