Summer Fruit Galettes

Posted on

You know that one of our favorite stores is Costco. We are so lucky to have one right here in Lodi and it takes about 15 minutes to get to. This past week we were on a mission to purchase a TV for the folks anniversary. We saw this ad on one of the TV’s for a Galette. It looked interesting because you can cook it right on your grill.

What is a Galette and how do you pronounce it? Wikipedia tells us that a Galette is a general term used in the French cuisine to designate various types of flat, round or freeform crusty cakes. It reminds me of our tarts. The website of FineCooking tells us a Galette is less fussy than a traditional tart and offers more crisp crust. (This recipe is NOT from Fine Cooking, I am sure!)

You will need these ingredients: Pie crust (in the refrigerated rolls section of your grocery store), 8 oz. cream cheese, 3 Tbs cornstarch, one egg, separated, 2 cups fruit (peaches, blueberries, mixed berries, you decided), 1 tsp vanilla, 2 Tbs powdered sugar, reg sugar and an oven or grill.

The recipe is here, at Three Many Cooks. We didn’t have the time to try this on the grill, so we threw it in the oven on a cookie sheet. It came out totally delicious!

Our fruit was peaches off the tree, pears, and blueberries. I added toasted almonds and baked.

Yummy! So easy.

5 thoughts on “Summer Fruit Galettes

    Sue said:
    September 2, 2011 at 1:33 pm

    MMMMM, that looks good. Once we are back where we have electricty, I will give it a try!

      Ralph said:
      September 2, 2011 at 3:00 pm

      Gwen, Funny, funny, great minds think alike. Ralph saw this in the Sunday paper and asked me to make it. We had some great choices for fresh fruit from Colorado. I used peaches, raspberries, blue berries and pluots. It was fantastic and it is not to large for two people. I liked that because we tend to eat dessert for a couple of days and throw the rest away. I would make this again. Take care, Janet

    tinycamper said:
    September 2, 2011 at 4:44 pm

    It’s beautiful and looks so easy. Yummmmm!

    Dawn said:
    September 3, 2011 at 11:22 am

    Thanks for the “new to me” dessert idea. I printed out the recipe and will try it soon. I think I will try it with frozen peaches as I am always disappointed in the fresh peaches we get here in Iowa. Seems they are always a little hard and never ripen. They certainly aren’t the peaches I remember eating as a child in MN, where the juice would run down your chin. Apples will soon be plentiful here. I would add some cinnamon with the apples. Yum.
    Happy belated annivsary to Dale’s folks. I’ll bet they like their new tv. I know when we first got our 42″ a year ago it was like I was addicted to it. Such a whole new world after watching on a 19″ inch.
    Still checking in with you guys daily and enjoying your and Dale’s posts.
    Dawn

    Gwen said:
    September 3, 2011 at 8:50 pm

    Janet…I should have known. You can use your grill to cook – according to Costco.
    Sharon…hope you give it a try.
    Dawn…I think you can use just about any fruit. The FineCooking site layered their apples around and around to make it look elegant. Enjoy. Always good to hear from you.

    It is a football night. Ducks and Boise St are playing along with the Open….remote is smoking!

Leave a Reply

