Companions

Posted on

Companions: friend, buddy, confidant, amigo, comrade

A companion comes in many sizes and shapes, human forms and non-human forms,  seen and unseen.

I woke up with this morning with this thought as I listened to the roar of the ocean outside my door. Who are my companions?

My lifetime companion comes from the spiritual part of me. His name is Jesus. And with Him are, (I am sure) my gray-haired angels who have guarded me and protected me in this life. These companions are the unseen. They are the heart-felt and constant companions of my life that have shown me over and over that they ARE and by my side.

The companion that walks beside me, eats with me, laughs with me, puts up with me and loves me is my beloved husband, Dale. Life has thrown us both some curves yet together we meet them head on.

My best friend is always at my side. She has been faithful and loving. She brings me much joy! Yep, my sweet, sweet dog, Morgan – a Golden Retriever.

My morning companions are my cup of tea and my bible. Here I am able to sit still and hear the voice of God through the pages of His word. I love how He shows me how He “lavished His love” on me; how He “sings” over me and “delights in me.” How He gave us Jesus so that we can sit at God’s throne and talk to Him. Here is where I start my day so that joy, love, and peace rule over everything else in my heart. I love how God, our Father, teaches me about Him and who He is and where He fits into this life He breathed into me.

Another companion, as you might have guessed, is the Nook my sweet daughter Lesa gave me this last year for Mother’s Day. This “book” goes with me everywhere.

We each have our own companions walking life with us. I pray that Jesus is your main friend and companion because He brings with Him promises and a joy this world will never know! I pray He is calling your name to make you a child of God. May your other companions that make this life special bring you much joy!

5 thoughts on “Companions

    Sue said:
    April 15, 2011 at 6:34 am

    So beautiful Gwen. You should think about writing..you have a wonderful way of expressing yourself and making a picture with your words.

    Gwen said:
    April 15, 2011 at 6:36 am

    I am thankful that you were blessed, Sue. Thanks.

    evielynne sanchez said:
    April 15, 2011 at 9:35 am

    His is most certainly my friend. I so value your love in him as I do…
    Hugs!!

    Dawn said:
    April 15, 2011 at 11:03 am

    Amen! What a Friend we have in Jesus. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and faith.

    tinycamper said:
    April 15, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    Gwen, we share the same traveling Companion. 🙂

    There is nothing so comforting and uplifting as reading His word.

    Glad you have such other sweet companions, too!

Leave a Reply

