What’s Happening At Cagle Campground Part III

Posted on

Friends of ours, Evie and Jorge are RVers. They are also crafters. I mention them because of their common love for working with their hands making some incredible things. Evie knits and crochets and a few other things. Jorge beads and quilts and a few other things. You can check them out and their craft on their blog (personal) or their crafting blog. Evie has an Esty Store where you can see her and Jorge’s crafts. Pop on over to their personal blog for a contest. The prize is a mug from their current employer, Rufus RV Park.

I mentioned these lovely people because Dale has taken up metal jewelry making. He found a book at Hobby Lobby called Totally Twisted: Innovative Wirework & Art Glass Jewelry by Kerry Bogert

So now we are a “couple” who craft while RVing! We went into Spring, Tx, old town in fact, to a bead shop there and I had to drag him out of the store after 2 hours. It was a cute store too. So, we have made him a space in the rig for all his tools and beads and he is a happy camper. I can’t wait to see what fun things he will create!

While he was working away on making some swirls to transform into a necklace, I was beading a ring with seed beads. I have wanted to work with seed beads and found a very creative book, More Seed Bead Stitching by Beth Stone. It is her second book so I may have to get the first one too. Tip: Use the Hobby Lobby 40% off coupon. Great savings. She uses a lot of the size 8 seed beads and they are had to find outside of the exclusive bead stores.

I have also been knitting on a shawl. I have wanted one for myself so now’s my chance. The pattern goes like this:

Cast on 3 stitches. Knit the first row. On the second row, K one, yarn over, knit to end. Continue the second row until you have 153 stitches on the needle. Use #13 size circular needles. This pattern calls for about 555 yards of yarn #4 or 5

This is an easy pattern. It is also a good TV watching pattern!

I am so excited. Today I will meet up with one of the gals from the Campground Crafters Forum. She is coming to visit us as she is close, close, close. Picture tomorrow.

As you can tell, we have just been relaxing these last 10 days. This campground is a very quiet campground and we would return here – but would get reservations first. Speaking of that, I have a story.

Yesterday a Class C drove up and was backing into the space next to us. The MRS. was out behind the rig yelling instruction to the MR who was in the cab. She was in his blind spot. Finally, she marches up to the cab, throws open the door (yelling the whole way) and MR gets out and MRS gets in and backs that baby right up. Dale and I were laughing so hard. So much for quiet!

We have learned to use our walkie talkies because it is hard to hear over that diesel engine. We did see another couple using their phones on speaker. I thought that was ingenious. What method do you use? Hand signals? Yelling? Staying in the cab!!!???

Life. Many faces and walks to this life. Life is GOOD. and God doesn’t make any junk.

2 thoughts on “What’s Happening At Cagle Campground Part III

    evielynne sanchez said:
    April 7, 2011 at 9:31 am

    Aw thanks Gwen… Dale and beading WOW – this will open so many doors for the two of you. He eyes will open to your crafting too… It’s great when in a store and Jorge will say out loud to me “Don’t forget your oatmeal color yarn” and the women around us look and then say I am spoiled. No not spoiled just a partner in crime lol…. Makes those rainy days so much more easier to deal with…. Thank you for the GREAT blog article! You rock

    Sue said:
    April 7, 2011 at 4:59 pm

    Hope the meeting with Sylvia was great! Bob and I always use walkie talkies when parking. With the walkie talkie, he doesn’t have to see me, he just listens. He knows when I say right, that the back of the trailer needs to go right. When I say stop, he stops immediately. I haven’t backed the rig since we got married. He says I give such good directions! Think he is BSing me, but that is OK too.

    Can’t wait to see Dales new craft!!!

Leave a Reply

