Learning Cables

Posted on

I finally got around to picking up the Alpaca yarn I purchased at the Alpaca ranch in Moro, New Mexico. I was procrastinating because I had never knit cables before and they looked hard to do. I went searching the Inet for “how to” videos. Frustrated by what I saw because I couldn’t grasp what my pattern said and what they were doing on the videos. So I sent out an SOS to the Campground Crafters group I am on. Pat, who we met in New Mexico, emailed back and told me how to work the cable. I found that cables are not hard at all. A little clumsy holding the cable needle in the back maybe, but easy peasy. So easy, I knit two hats and now Courtney wants one of her own. I have some white alpaca yarn given to me by a friend and it happens to be the color she requested. Yahoo! I can use up some yarn I have in my stash!!!!

I had the purple hat done when Lesa and Courtney arrived so I had Court model it for me. I also thought I would keep this hat because of the fact I bought the yarn in New Mexico (see their site here)  and it would keep those memories alive. Well, I just couldn’t resist giving the hat to my daughter.  She looked so cute in it.


The pattern was fun to do. You can get it here for free if you want to give it a go.

2 thoughts on “Learning Cables

    Evie Sanchez said:
    September 21, 2010 at 9:22 pm

    Gwen you need to open up an etsy store and start selling… Your hat is just beyond words…. Gosh if I could do that I’d sell way more hats…. Your model looks just too beautiful… I think we may have to plan a trip to come visit you so you can teach me!

    Gwen said:
    September 21, 2010 at 11:06 pm

    Evie…a visit would be beyond words. This hat is knits and purls which I know you can do. The cable is truly easy. Let’s chat some day on FB and I will take you through it. You can do this. Totally. When you have started the pattern and get to the C4B we can chat and I can walk you through it. You will be amazed at the simplicity. Yep, I thought of you when I was knitting and I knew you could do this.

Leave a Reply

