A Tribute

Posted on Updated on

This is the month my mother was born. So before we see the last of August I thought I would share about my mom.

She was born August 8, 1922 to Martha and Frank McKeehan in Oregon City, Oregon.

Mom was the middle child. She had an older brother, Jim, who died in WWII. Norman, the youngest died a few years ago which ended our side of the McKeehan clan.

Blossom, Jim, Norman McKeehan

I have talked about mom, but I haven’t given you her name! She was born Blossom Darlene McKeehan and called Bonnie. She gave up her real name when she realized that a cow across the street was named Blossom! Actually, she was named after her dad’s boxing name – Broken Blossom. But you couldn’t tell her any different.

She was six years old when this photo was taken. It hung in my Grandmothers (Nanny) house and now resides with my daughter, Lesa. It hangs in this wonderful old oval frame.

Needless to say, she was a tomboy and one of four in her graduating class at Henley High School. She was a beautiful woman so much favored by the boys. But she had two brothers who watched out for her. Then she met my dad, John Edward Hess. They were married June 8, 1943 in Reno, Nevada. In five years they had me so I wasn’t even a twinkle in their eye yet! This photo was taken before they were married. Mom was only 18 here but I am sure they were engaged. Dad was in the National Guard and stationed at Fort Stevens, OR during the war.

In 1948 I came along. I was born 2 months early and spent 30 days in the hospital. Mom and Dad had to make a special room for me at home. I am still here, almost 62 years later so I guess I can say God and Doc Massey did a good job!

I have some wonderful photo’s of mom and me. There are days when I get them out and let the memories run through my mind and heart. I miss her and there are days when she comes for a visit either in my dreams or in my laugh or something I say that is especially her’s.

Mom had two grandchildren, David and Lesa and let me tell you the sun rose and set on them according to her. She also had four great-grandchildren: Dustin, Melanie, Courtney and Jacob. We were quite big on generational photo’s. This photo is of mom, me, Lesa and baby Courtney.

This one is of mom, her mom (Martha) and her mom(Theresa) and me.

The writing on this page says: I love this photo of my Great-Grandma Theresa, my Grandmother Nanny, mom and me. I see a strength and independent spirit in the face of those I love. Grandmother Bock was German through and through, yet gentle and kind. Nanny, oh I can hear her sweet laugh today! She saw life as a challenge and met it head on with a smile and stubborn determination. Mom Bonnie was the best. She had a fiery spirit tempered with love and admitted – snobbery! The faces of the women I love how they lived life generation to generation. They had a love for God and for family. Me, Gwenda, only saw life as a playground at 8 years old. Little did I know then how their character would shape who I am today.

The Lord took mom home to be with Him on March 30, 2003. She died at home with her family with her. We have many good memories and I praise our Lord for putting me in the family He did. I cherish them beyond words.

Miss ya Mom…….

5 thoughts on “A Tribute

    Lesa Butler said:
    August 31, 2010 at 12:06 am

    Awwww Mom! You made me cry!

    Sue said:
    August 31, 2010 at 8:28 am

    Oh Gwen, that is so beautiful, and such a wonderful tribute to your mom and the women in your family! I know what you mean about missing mother and remembering laughs, saying. I see that in my granddaughter…her laugh is so much her mother’s, and sometimes mine.

    Ralph said:
    August 31, 2010 at 10:55 am

    What a great tribute Gwen!

    Janice said:
    August 31, 2010 at 12:44 pm

    Thanks so much for sharing this Gwen … just perfect!
    Hugs – Janice

    evie sanchez said:
    September 3, 2010 at 10:50 am

    these type of post are hard for me to read because of my own past… I have no pictures nor any good memories to share… I would never wish anyone to live that way but I am happy for my friends who have such a wonderful family story/stories to share and for this Gwen I am so happy for you to be able to share these with us! But I am a child to a loving parent our God!

Leave a Reply

