Another Week Down

Posted on

It seems we had the week from hell this week. Yes, one disaster after another to where we both were ready to throw up our hands and hook up the rig! But we didn’t. Lessons learned by all of us (our relief person) included. I think the end of summer has brought out the nasty people!

North Yuba River at Indian Valley CG

All our campgrounds were pretty full and next week looks to be the same. We won’t even go there with Labor Day weekend.

On the brighter side, my daughter and grandkids are planning a visit in September. I haven’t seen them since last November and boy, do I need a Nana fix. My son-in-law is coming up to Susanville by himself (how he is getting a week with Lesa I don’t know!) so he is planning on stopping by for a couple of days to go hiking and mountain biking. I am so excited!

From the left: Lesa, my daughter, me, Courtney and Dustin. This is on the bridge in Havasu.

Yesterday we had another host get together over pot-luck. We drove up to Loganville CG to enjoy everyone’s company and great food. Thankfully the skeeters were not out there. I made a peach/blueberry cobbler that went very well with the vanilla ice cream!

Other than that, we are off to Reno tomorrow afternoon to stay in a motel so we can do errands on Wednesday. I am going to give the Social Security office another go at signing me up. I think Dale is also going to sign up for benefits. Then the usual shopping and grocery shopping. Tomorrow I am off to Downieville in the morning to do the laundry and get it out-of-the-way.

Downieville laundry.

Saturday we went back to Camptonville to the Farmers Market. We had a lot of work to do so made it 5 minutes before they closed. Not much left. I wanted tomatoes but the lady didn’t bring any. I did pick up some cherry tomatoes for the salad I took to our potluck.

We did run to Camptonville for the Farmers Market. Alas, no tomatoes. Carolyn said she would put some aside for me next week. We worked too long and got there 5 minutes before they closed.

Not much to tell you other than we are getting to feel as if we have a continuous round of company coming over to visit!

Life is still good and God is still awesome.

5 thoughts on “Another Week Down

    Sue said:
    August 24, 2010 at 11:03 am

    Hang in there guys! After a year of travel and fun and now having to sit and listen to all the idiots complain cannot be easy!

    Gwen said:
    August 24, 2010 at 11:57 am

    You don’t know the half it it…..hitch itch has arrived. Time to go! But we won’t, darn it. Thanks Sue…

    evie sanchez said:
    August 24, 2010 at 12:26 pm

    Gwen… I’ll have to get pictures of the Farmers Market here in town. They have it on Wednesdays from 3-5pm…. When I first went there I was shocked – it’s jam backed…. prices are very high and really no difference then Vons but it does support the local growers… Love picture with your family – you seem so small – lol…. Much love heading out your way from us….

    Ralph said:
    August 24, 2010 at 9:12 pm

    Hang in there Gwen, after Labor Day it’ll be a piece of cake! Have fun with you Daughter and Grandkids, we sure did with Julia.

    Gwen said:
    August 26, 2010 at 12:10 am

    Thanks Ralph. See you Tuesday!

    Evie…we were on the bridge in Lake Havasu and Dale was clear down by the water. That is why we look so small. Me thinks I like that!!!!
    Hey, I saw a gal tonight that had the name “Jorge” tattooed on her arm and I was craning my neck to see if it was you guys! LOL
    Loves back….

Leave a Reply

