It’s Not Easy To Admit

Posted on

Where did the time go? It isn’t easy looking ahead to collecting social security but the time is fast approaching. Do I sign up now, at age 62 or do I wait. It seems the government has made it some what easy to sign up but more complicated on what your final check amount will be. Sign up now lose a percentage because you are not of full retirement age. Which for me is age 66. Will I still be alive at 66? Who knows but our Lord!

It is amazing to me even now that we look for senior discounts in restaurants and when shopping or going to a movie. I don’t feel like a senior (well, maybe today I do after a week of working again!). Other than retiring last year and having such a blast travelling, life is wonderful.

Anyone have any ideas on this part of life? Being a senior and awaiting the time to sign up for social security benefits???? By golly, I feel like I have earned it over the last 20 years!

6 thoughts on “It’s Not Easy To Admit

    Dale said:
    August 9, 2010 at 2:14 pm

    I say wait to age 66 or sign up when you need it, which ever comes first.

    billbirnbaum said:
    August 9, 2010 at 3:00 pm

    One really great advantage to having arrived at the age of 62 years is eligibility for the federal government’s Golden Eagle Pass. For a one-time payment of ten bucks, you gain free entry to all national parks and monuments, plus free day use of all federal picnic grounds. Plus half priced camping in federal parks, monuments and forest service campgrounds. And not just for you, but for your entire party. A great deal for those who love the outdoors.

      Gwen said:
      August 9, 2010 at 6:23 pm

      Thanks Bill….my hubby has his and we have saved a bunch using it. I won’t be able to get my card until November or December. Good to hear from you.

    Ralph said:
    August 9, 2010 at 8:54 pm

    Hi Gwen, Take it now….

    billbirnbaum said:
    August 9, 2010 at 10:29 pm

    My wife will be 62 in just over a year. So we’re facing the same decision. We’re inclined to take her social security early. Bill

    Cyndi said:
    August 10, 2010 at 10:17 pm

    My husband is taking his early (at 62) in November. I’m retiring early (at 55) next year, and we NEED the money now. I guess it should depend on whether you really need it now or not.

Leave a Reply

