Crockpot Lasagna?

Posted on

Mothers Day is happening tomorrow. A day to remember our mom’s.

I lost my mom in 2003. Over the years she comes back to visit either in my voice and actions or through my daughter! Funny how we say we don’t want to be like our mom but end up there  in a lot of ways. LOL Happy Mother’s Day to all you Moms. Praise God for the children He has blessed us with and the grandchildren!

Last week I made crockpot lasagna. Have you ever done this? I wanted something easy because we were going to be out seeing the sights and had these noodles that needed to be used. I found a recipe at my favorite cookbook.( allrecipes.com) Like most recipes nowadays, I make them my own by adding all the stuff I cook with. I do have to say this was an easy recipe. You can find the recipe here.

I chopped up some mushrooms and onions and proceeded to sauté them with some garlic. (I am a garlic addict!) I then added my new favorite meat, ground turkey, and cooked that up. I got out my spices of poultry seasoning, basil and oregano.  We love veggies, so the zucchini, carrots and broccoli went into the pan too. Next a can of diced tomatoes (Italian works good) and then some Paul Newman’s Marinara. (my kids would die if they knew I used a bottle tomato sauce! I use to make my own sauce) You can make your own sauce too. Whatever it takes to make a spaghetti sauce.

The cheese can be anything you want. The recipe called for Parmesan, cottage cheese and mozzarella all mixed together. I didn’t have all that much cottage cheese but used what I had with a little Parmesan and topped off the layers with mozzarella. I like to line the crockpot with aluminum foil in a cross like design going up the sides of the crockpot. Found this tip in the FIX-IT and FORGET-IT LIGHTLY by Phyllis Pellman Good. You have probably guessed that you now layer the noodles, sauce and cheese. Break the lasagna noodles to fit.(don’t cook them first) I cooked the lasagna on high for 5 hours – a bit too long but it didn’t hurt the flavor at all. I forgot to turn it down to low when I left but felt that my crockpot wouldn’t get the noodles done on low.

This may be an unorthodox way to cook lasagna, but it was a delicious dish and we were able to have left overs.

Last night we went to see Iron Man at the el Raton. We also learned how to say Raton – Ratone is the proper pronouncement. The theater was built in the 1930’s and around the screen they decorated it like an adobe type home. Pretty cute. They had the old lights in the seating area – the red, blue and white lights. Dale wanted to get a flavor of the locals and he wasn’t disappointed.

We were just getting into the film when all of a sudden the people were upside down. They had to shut every thing down, rewind the film and put it on another reel. That took about 20 minutes. Well, they had to do this 4 times throughout the movie. Good thing I took my knitting! Our 2 hour movie turned into a 3 hour movie! But we had fun. While others got their money back and left, we toughed it out. At least we got to interact with the community. It wasn’t a bad movie either. Took a little to get it going but lots of action once it started. I did have a hard time keeping up because Robert and Gwyneth as they would talk at the same time (mostly arguing) and it got confusing. They did it a lot. Mickey made a really good bad guy!

That is it for now. Housekeeping stuff today and tomorrow in case we decide to leave here. The weather has been cloudy and windy with some sun. I tried to sit outside yesterday and finally gave up and let the cold win. Have a good weekend and a heartfelt “HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY”  to all you lovely moms. Blessings…..

One thought on “Crockpot Lasagna?

    Amanda Stratton said:
    May 13, 2010 at 1:04 pm

    Thanks for the recipe Gwen! I’m gonna try it!! Miss you 🙂

Leave a Reply

