Visiting Las Cruces

Posted on

Our first stop to Las Cruces was to the Visitors Center on Water St. We loaded up on reading material and got a card for discounts. Then it was off to the hardware stores. Ralph was in a project in his rig and Dale went along for moral support. Ya, right! We did find a Lowe’s.

We needed to find the UPS store Ralph was having his tax papers delivered to. This was up on Lohman. We also found a Hobby Lobby too! Yahoo! The ladies on our Crafters forum have been talking about Hobby Lobby and now I get to go!

We did find a Home Depot close by, so the guys shopped there. I went in too so I could find a latch to hang my new duster on. Success for all of us and we piled back in the truck and headed for home. We were bushed.

Ralph checks out a hairbrush for bald men!

We took a down day on Friday, so Dale and I took our hike. On Saturday, we headed off early so we could get to the Farmers Market and Craft Show in old town Las Cruces. Two blocks of vendors! Breakfast was hard to come by though. Dale had a muffin and coffee and I found a hot dog vendor. I know, but I just couldn’t bring myself to eat a muffin. We walkedaround looking at everyone’s wares.

I left with some Beefstake tomatoes and Dale bought Chloe some clothes. The prices were too high and the crafts were not something we even lusted after.

Next stop was at the quilt store just across from the square. A very nice store where Janet purchased some material to make tortilla cozies for us. We found some beautiful chili pepper material. Then on to the Train Museum. After letting Sam take us down to the tracks on a dead-end, we found the museum. A pretty building that had been redone twice from the old building back in the early 1900’s. There wasn’t much to see here. So we headed off to Hobby Lobby and pure pleasure.

The guys went to Big Lots and Wal-Mart while Janet and I shopped to our hearts content. I did find some new cotton yarn and Janet bought a laptop desk. Sale, sale, sale. And a friend sent me a 40% off coupon through email that I printed out and used.

We had lunch at Wendy’s because Dale and I bet each other where Hobby Lobby was. I won!

Ahhhh, it was a good day, with good friends and fun things to see.

2 thoughts on “Visiting Las Cruces

    Cyndi said:
    March 7, 2010 at 10:33 am

    I’m intrigued by the idea of a tortilla cozy! I looked one up on etsy, and I think maybe I can make one myself. It would cut down on the space that normally would be used by a hard-sided tortilla warmer. The gal on etsy says hers has poly batting – do you think cotton batting would also suffice? It appears to me that it’s two circles, batting inside each one, quilted, then sewn together about 2/3 of the way around with binding. Is Janet willing to part with some basic instructions?

Leave a Reply

