Escapee Rally in Montague, California

Posted on

 

 

rigWe had 23 rigs pull in, which means 46 people attended our annual Balloon Festival Rally. We dry dock on part of Dick’s 120 acres at the base of Mt. Shasta. A side note: they are saying that the glaciers are growing on Mt. Shasta!

The rally begins on Thursday afternoon with registration and SKP hugs. This is followed by Friendship hour (involves food) and moves right into dinnthursnite1er. Doris had prepared chili and all the fixings. She even made us qusidallias this year. After dinner, more chatting and catching up on what everyone did during the year. A lot of RV stuff is discussed in the men’s circle. Games are brought out for those that want to play and Dick makes a fire if need be. This year the weather was in the 90’s.

Each rally has a sheriff. Dale took on the job. There are certain things one can get fined for. Like eating with your hat on. Well, this year, since Dale is a hat person, he set the rule that you would be fined if you DIDN’T wear a hat. He also fined those people who used a generator! Let the fun begin. That night one of our two Dick’s (no last names please) came to me and bribed me to make all Dale’s hats disappear. It didn’t take much to twist my arm. I am not a hat person! I went through every cupboard collecting all Dale’s hats, putting them in a bag and taking them to Dick’s house. I did leave one hat. This hat was purchased in Astoria when we were on the coast a few years back. It is a winter hat. I need to get the photo from Doris and will post it later. So check back tonight!

The next morning I was asked ever so not politely, “Where are my hats?” I played the dumb blonde act and strung him a long. I then told him to wear my hat that was by the door. Oh my, someone had taken that one too! I got the poke in the shoulder and told “You are going to jail.” He put on the winter hat and went to coffee. Of course, his hat didn’t go unnoticed. And in this group there is no mercy for such things. I did put one hat back on his hat rack so he didn’t have to wear fleece all day long in these hot temps.

At 10 a.m. we circled the chairs out in the field for the annual cow chip throwing contest. Our first rally here, both Dale and I won. See that here. The next year, Dale one and I was dethroned. Dale was now on the hot spot to see if he could retain his throne to the best BS chip thrower in chapter 37. First thing we learned is that the rules had been changed. Women throw for accuracy and men throw for distance. Well, no one could come close to what Dale threw so now the men were to throw for accuracy and Dale had to sit in a chair. Now is that fair, I ask you? I made a video of Dale’s toss and you can it HERE.

cowchip
That's me bombing out!

Potluck dinner on Friday night which is always sooooooooo good. After dinner I joined my parents in chapter 37 (Tom and Carmen) and Patti and we played Pegs and Jokers. Dad and I won! But then Mom was being a stinker!

Saturday was brunch at 10 a.m. and then everyone was encouraged to head off to Montague to the Balloon Festival doings. They had booths and a parade. Balloon people come in every year to fly their hot air balloons and then do a parade for the kids and community. We hope to maybe do a float of our own next year for the smokeballEscapees. We stayed home as we had been down to town twice in the past years. I played Mexican Train while Dale worked on his class for this winter term.

 So now, everyone has left for home or wherever their travels are taking them. It was a great rally. Thanks to our VCR, Pat and Tom for not only being here but providing a great representation of the Escapee club.

A SKP goodbye - after hugs.
A SKP Goodbye - after hugs!

 

2 thoughts on “Escapee Rally in Montague, California

    Tnelson said:
    September 30, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    Hey, I found your blog while searching on Google your post looks very interesting for me. I will add a backlink and bookmark your site. Keep up the good work!

    Gwen said:
    October 2, 2009 at 12:00 pm

    Thanks for the kudoo’s!

Leave a Reply

