Sunrises – Sunsets and an Eagle

Posted on Updated on

sunrise

Today is July 1, 2009. We start week two of retirement. Still feels good yet so very different. There must be a crime in feeling this free from life! If you have noticed, we like out of the way places and don’t like to be around too many people. Another sign of freedom. I watch the birds here at Gerber and think “they do this day in and day out, year after year.” This is how they live in nature. Pretty incredible. I think retirement is going to look like this.

I mentioned the coyotes waking us up in an earlier post. Morgan had awakened me up before 5 a. m. The sun was just coming up so I thought I would get a photo and that is how I came to hear the coyotes just over the inlet from us. They were welcoming the sun for another day! We have all heard them in the distance, but they were so close to us or we them.

We had a pretty quiet day. Reading, bike riding and eating. Nothing all that special. Until the sunset. The sky was aflame with a pink color. We had clouds off to the south of us that lit up the sky and turned it almost red. The moon was shining so this had to be a photo opt! I grabbed my camera and climb into the bed of the truck to get the moon in the shot. I ran in the RV to show Dale and get him to come look. He got up, looked out the window and said, “Look, there is the eagle.” Sure enough, our resident eagle was sitting on the shore in front of our plot of land. I think he was curious about us because he wasn’t watching the water for fish, he was watching us. He sat there for a long time. We were shooting pictures of him from inside – Dale out the window and me through the sliding door in the screen door. It was truly awesome and we felt so blessed. He finally flew off and I have a very blurred photo of his departure. We went to bed hnightsky609appy!eagleonshore

One thought on “Sunrises – Sunsets and an Eagle

    Ellie Willaman said:
    July 1, 2009 at 2:08 pm

    Gwen, your retirement sounds so relaxing. The pictures are terrific. Love the one with the eagle.

    I’d sure love to live along a lake. I’m sure you see amazing things.

    Happy retierement!!

    Ellie

Leave a Reply

