Quilting

Posted on

Now that we are in Sutherlin I am taking advantage of the quilting classes that the Quilt Store has in Roseburg. When I went to check out their classes, asking for BASIC quilting, they were starting a class the very next week. I jumped in with both feet! One sales clerk helped me pick out my material for the quilt. Now that is a process and a half! Focal point material, dark, light, medium colors! My head was spinning but we managed to find 5 or 6 colors/patterns of material to make a smashing quilt!

We are making a “Sample” quilt which is learning all the basic patterns used in quilting. In first lesson we learned how to cut strips and then squares.  Since following lines on a quilting ruler is not my forte, I was treading water madly the first time out. I cut 4″ squares instead of 4.5″ squares. Back to the drawing board for me. I mentioned to Sylvia, our instructor, that I would probably be her problem child.

There are 3 other gals in the class and that makes for individual instruction which is so very nice. The class runs 5 pm to 7:30 pm but some gals were still working at 8:30 pm when I left. We do have homework – making 2 squares ON OUR OWN!!!!

Here are my squares. I really do have to get this “perfectionism” gene under control!

Block of 9

I am using muslin for the light color and background. The center square is my focal material.

An up close of the material.
This is called Shoo Fly. The center square is the screen door and the triangles are the flies being shooed out.

I also wanted to show you my first attempt at quilting. I purchased foam squares in Indiana to give my home a “rustic/homey” feel. These were fun but not exactly quilting by machine! A knife is used to stuff material down groves on the pattern to make this shape.

Now, I am learning the REAL thing! What fun it is!

Life is good. God is holy and full of goodness and love. I love Him so very much.

One thought on “Quilting

    Paulina said:
    May 8, 2012 at 8:50 pm

    You are doing a great job. Keep it up.
    God is so good.,

    Blessings, Paulina

Leave a Reply

